top of page

Developing my Business Card

A key part of creating a visual identity is a business card. Business cards are often thought irrelevant now with social media and websites allowing people to find contact details easily. However, it is a unique way to display an identity, and a physical item can be more memorable than digital, and help stand out from other businesses, so they are still a useful asset within branding.

I experimented with a variety of different compositions, placing my name, the monogram and contact information in different places to see which combination worked best with my monogram design. At this point I still hadn't decided on colours so I experimented with a range, mainly focussing on the dark pink shade. I started by experimenting with circular designs. I thought this might help draw attention to the monogram, but found that it detracted from the design.

I experimented with different ways of placing the monogram, so that it would wrap around both sides of the business card. Although these were visually interesting, only half the monogram would be seen at a time, and it is essential that the monogram is clear as it should be an identifying symbol, so I decided not to use this option.

Focussing on the back of the card, I continued placing the elements in different positions to find the most successful solution. I found that the writing looked best when aligned to the left. I made the monogram smaller and aligned with my name, and found that this created the most balanced appearance.


Final Business Card

For the front of the business card I placed the monogram in the centre of the card, so that all of the focus is on the design and my identity colour. I chose to use a dark pink-red shade that stood out against the cream. For the back of the business card, I kept the information on the left hand side, with a small monogram in the right hand corner.




Post: Blog2 Post
Subscribe Form

©2020 by Anna Kirby Graphic Design.

bottom of page