top of page

Business Card Contextual Research

One of the key assets of a visual identity is a business card. It provides the opportunity to show off a design in a unique size and format, and add to a coherent identity. I looked at a range of examples to provide inspiration for creating my own business card, and identify styles and compositions that work successfully.


I came across a business card design by Hey Studio for Lea Munsch. I like the way that they have created three versions, each using one of three contrasting identity colours. The details have been added in gold foil which catches the light and stands out against the vibrant backgrounds. I like the way that she has used lines under each detail to separate information and add formality.


This example I also looked at when looking at visual identities as a whole, created by Ryan Romanes Studio for Rogan Nash Architects. Again, they have created three variations using the different brand colours which is something I am considering for my own design. I think the way that the monogram is embossed on one side adds a subtle texture, while the back contains all of the contact details.


This design was created by Lotta Nieminen for brand Rent the Runway. The design stood out as business cards are conventionally landscape, but the portrait format creates a successful composition combined with the rectangular logo design. Additional detail is provided with embossing and foil.


This example was created for Soap by Socio Design. I like the way that they have placed contact details on every edge of the card, with the monogram in the centre, which provides a balanced appearance.

I will refer back to these examples as I develop my own business card, paying attention to some of the compositional elements used by these studios.

Post: Blog2 Post
Subscribe Form

©2020 by Anna Kirby Graphic Design.

bottom of page