top of page

Photocopier experimentation

I used the photocopier to create some experiments with the images I had. I placed one image in the scanner at a time, and printed the image, then re inserted the paper, so each scan was overlaid on the same paper. I did this multiple times, and some images I enlarged or minimised.

I repeated this process several times. I think the most effective experiments were the ones with the most layers, as it created a sense of confusion, or thought process, which could work with the detective story theme.



Another effect was created by placing the objects on the scanner and scanning with the lid open. This created a dream-like effect with blurred edges and gradient backgrounds. I like the way the shape is emphasised by the light.



We also did a workshop where we used the photocopier to distort writing. First, I printed the title of my Zine, and then while I scanned the title, I moved the paper around so the type was distorted. I think the least successful of these were the ones which were moved around too much while scanning, as they were illegible. The most successful were only moved slightly while they were scanned, so created a gently waved effect.

I also tried this effect with one of my collages which created a sense of confusion, which could work with my narrative.


Post: Blog2 Post
Subscribe Form

©2020 by Anna Kirby Graphic Design.

bottom of page