top of page

Zine Development

Based on all of the experiments I have produced for the zine over the last few weeks, I planned out the narrative over 12 pages, and started putting together the pages on InDesign. For some pages I was able to use previous experiments, and others I used the techniques I had tried out to create further experiments to match the narrative.

I decided to use just two colours, orange and purple, so that the two characters/objects were clearly identified. The purple on these spreads is very blue-toned to counteract the printer which will print more red-toned when I print the final zine.


Originally, I used my scanned hand writing for the written elements but after looking at examples of children's books, I decided a typeface would be more suitable, as it stands out more, especially when wrapped around the elephant in the centre.


I found that using bitmap created an interesting texture, and helped the spreads link together, so most of the spreads have a bitmapped pattern. I have tried to alternate the colours on every other spread, so each spread focuses on either the orange or the purple elephant.

I have mainly used imagery to communicate the narrative, which involved the elephants being separated and then finding each other at the end, which I think is clear enough for a child to follow, without the use of lots of writing.

I decided to use a saddle stitch to bind the zine, which I tested on the middle page spread and cover.

I used a purple thread to contrast with the orange cover, and match the purple writing, which is then more subtle on the purple middle page spread.



Post: Blog2 Post
Subscribe Form

©2020 by Anna Kirby Graphic Design.

bottom of page